Skip to product information
1 of 7

Jessica Courtney-Tickle

Jessica Courtney-Tickle Story Orchestra: The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker : Press the Note to Hear Tchaikovsky's Music (Series #2) (Hardcover)

Jessica Courtney-Tickle Story Orchestra: The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker : Press the Note to Hear Tchaikovsky's Music (Series #2) (Hardcover)

Regular price $31.89 USD
Regular price Sale price $31.89 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Follow Clara on a magical Christmas adventure in this retelling of the classic ballet story. Each spread features a musical note to press to listen 10 seconds of sound from Tchaikovsky's score including "The Dance of the Reed Flutes," "The Waltz of Flowers," and "The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy." Full color. Follow Clara on a magical Christmas adventure in this musical retelling of The Nutcracker ballet--push the button on each beautiful scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Tchaikovsky's score.

It is Christmas Eve at Clara's house. Scents of ginger, chocolate, and peppermint waft through the air. Clara's parents are having a party, and her little brother Fritz is decorating the Christmas tree. Clara's godfather, a toymaker, arrives with gifts, including a very special one for her--a wooden nutcracker carved in the shape of a little man. After Fritz breaks it, the children are sent to bed.

The story follows Clara in her dreams as she battles and defeats a mouse king, then travels with her nutcracker-turned-prince to the Land of Sweets where she watches its enchanting inhabitants perform beautiful dances. As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes, you will press the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from the ballet's music, including "The Waltz of the Flowers," "The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy," "The Russian Dance," and the awesome "Finale."

Readers should press firmly on the pages to activate the sound board at the back of the book, encouraging interactive learning and introducing children to this beautiful piece of music.

At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, with details about his composition of The Nutcracker ballet. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms, and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.

The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet, opera, and program music stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores. With The Story Orchestra keyboard sound books, children can play the famous melodies themselves with the sound of a real grand piano.

Also available from the Story Orchestra series: The Magic Flute, I Can Play (vol 1), Carnival of the Animals, Swan Lake, The Sleeping Beauty, and Four Seasons in One Day.

Manufacturer's note: please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long.

The perfect primer to introduce children to classical music. • ISBN:9781786030689 • Format:Hardcover • Publication Date:2017-10-05


Age Range

6 - 9 Years



Series Title

Story Orchestra


Frances Lincoln Ltd

Book Format


Original Languages


Number of Pages



Jessica Courtney-Tickle


The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker



Publication Date

October, 2017

Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)

12.10 x 10.60 x 0.60 Inches



SKU: WA56101180

Shipping & Returns

Shipping: FREE

Returns: see Cancellation, Returns & Refund

View full details